‘It blows my mind’: The journey of a Computer Networks undergraduate on placement with Goldman Sachs

 

Emmanuel Keboh
Emmanuel Keboh; Technology Analyst, Goldman Sachs, Software Development Team. 2nd year BSc Computer Networks undergraduate at Middlesex University.

About my placement

I am currently 10 months in to my 12 month placement, working for Goldman Sachs; a leading global investment banking, securities and investment management firm that provides a wide range of financial services to a client base that includes corporations, financial institutions, governments and individuals.

I’m employed as a Technology Intern. I had the option choosing which team to work for in the technology division, and I chose the Software development team. My daily tasks involved writing software, both front-end (which is what clients get to see) and backend (which are software that does all the heavy lifting behind the scenes) and designing systems on which these both run. I’m usually, assigned a specific task or problem, and given the opportunity to come up with a solution to implement.

What I’ve gained

This opportunity has allowed me to experience what corporate life really is like. Some things you just can’t learn by reading a book…you have to experience them! I’m also paid a generous salary by Goldman Sachs, while I’m on my placement.

Life at Goldman has exceeded all my expectations about completing a placement. I feel like more than an intern, as everyone treats me with the same respect as they would anyone else. I can always pick up the phone and call anyone for help, or schedule a meeting if I’m stuck on a problem. During team meetings, people are always interested to hear my opinions, and I’m always encouraged to say what I’m thinking.

Because my team is a global team, I’ve had the opportunity to work with people located in different parts of the world, collaborating with them in solving similar problems or building software and platforms. I’ve been able to expand my network of professional contacts. I didn’t realise at first, but I now know a lot of people that are at the top of their fields, in various positions and different levels in the industry. I can now contact these individuals when I need assistance or advice, or perhaps a recommendation! I wouldn’t have these connections if I didn’t choose to do this work placement.

My work at Goldman Sachs has undoubtedly been the most challenging chapter of my life, mostly because I was given the opportunity to step out of my comfort zone; taking on Software Engineering which I always thought I wasn’t going to be good at. However, I received amazing support from Goldman Sachs, including training workshops and online learning courses, and support from my colleagues who are all really good at what they do.

It’s been an amazing journey. Looking back, it blows my mind how much my knowledge and proficiency has grown. I’m glad to have stepped out of my comfort zone and I’d do it again!

 

How I found this opportunity

I found this placement using my own initiative; by actively using online job boards and internet searches. I also contacted MDXworks employability team for help structuring my CV before I applied.

This support really helped me to secure my ideal placement. I’d recommend to any other MDX students searching for placements that you should get your application documents reviewed by MDXworks. Also, make Google your best friend! Carefully chose the phrases and keywords you use in your search. This will help to ensure that you get the most relevant search results.

When searching for placements, I think it’s important to seek out an organisation that shares similar goals and values as you, to ensure you’ll fit in and flourish. I thought very hard about my ideal workplace, my professional ambitions and what I wanted to get from my placement. I think that finding a good match, will help to ensure that you benefit from your placement, and that your placement provider will benefit from having you!

Personally I think the decision on whether or not to do a work placement is a no-brainer… The benefits are enormous!

Emmanuel Keboh; Technology Intern, Goldman Sachs, Software Development Team. 2nd year BSc Computer Networks undergraduate at Middlesex University.

 GS quote

 

(Interview by Matt Lewis, MDXWorks On-Campus / Online, Middlesex University)

 

To receive email notifications of new posts, please use the ‘Follow’ button on the right.

Was this blog-post helpful? Please leave a comment below.

Leave a Reply

